Draw announced for PlayStation 4 NPL NSW Men's


Football NSW has officially released the 2017 PlayStation4 National Premier Leagues NSW Men's competition draw for the new season kicking off on Saturday March 11 across twenty-two rounds with twelve clubs ready to battle it out for total supremacy. 

Opens external link in new windowVIEW THE 2017 PS4 NPL NSW MENS DRAW

NSW is heavily renowned for having the most competitive competition across all National Premier Leagues in Australia as a number of mouth-watering first round fixtures have been announced in what will be a memorable 2017 season.

New faces will grace new clubs in season 2017 while experienced campaigners will once again steer various ships across the twelve clubs in their push for success.

Official signings are currently taking place with Football NSW to release the official new recruits early next year.

Three matches have been set for Saturday evening as the new boys on the block Sydney FC, freshly promoted from the PS4 NPL NSW Men’s 2 competition, tackle the always tricky Rockdale City Suns at Lambert Park. Robbie Stanton’s young squad will be one to watch out for but they will be tested by the Suns with Player Manager Paul Reid pulling the strings against his former club. The Suns will unearth a couple of its new signings with the likes of Harris Gaitatzis and Jordan Figon joining an already impressive group of players that includes Blake Ricciuto, Alex Canak, Trent McClenahan and Daniel Petkovski to name a few.

At the Bonnyrigg Sports Club, the White Eagles face a new look Sydney Olympic side led by its new Portuguese manager Jamie Monroy Zamith. The White Eagles will once again be coached by the experienced Brian Brown and will hope that a couple of new faces in defenders Zac Mackenzie from the Wollongong Wolves and Milan Susak, who returns after spending some time in Asia, will help strengthen the squad’s backline. The Blues will look towards giving a few young former Under 20s players a crack at the first team as the core of the squad has been signed on from the 2016 season. The club has hinted in securing at least three players before finalising its squad for the new year but the likes of Costa Andricopoulos, Max Burgess, Peter Makrillos and Yianni Spyrakis look to have agreed to terms with the Blues.

Seymour Shaw will be the final Saturday evening match as Carlos Villazon’s Sutherland Sharks entertain Manly United in what promises to be a huge match. Villazon will once again bank on the club’s youth policy with a number of keen and promising youngsters ready to taste first grade football however the club has snapped up former favourite son Nathan Elasi while Manly United will be the club to beat judging from its recent acquisitions. Paul Dee has managed to secure the likes of Sasa Macura from Blacktown City, Dylan Macallister from the Rockdale City Suns and Nikola Taneski from Sydney United 58 to name a few joining already a pretty extensive list of Premier League stars at the Northern Beaches.

Sunday will see 2016 Champions Blacktown City travel to Pagewood as they tackle Hakoah Sydney City East FC who will be managed by a new coach in former Scottish international Gavin Rae. Mark Crittenden will sport a new look line-up for 2017 as they will have to manage without the services of Sasa Macura, Travis Major, Patrick Antelmi and Nenad Vekic but they have snapped up former City star Ken Chun. One things for sure, Crittenden and co really know how to bring out the best in what they have so count them out at your peril. As for Hakoah Sydney City East, they will sport a fairly new squad with the Green brothers Oliver and Jack joining the fold as well as former Sydney FC keeper Anthony Bouzanis. 

Parramatta FC will look towards starting the year on the right foot as they take on the Wollongong Wolves at Melita Stadium. Franco Cosentino, one of the most likeable coaches in the league, will have a few fresh faces in Hayden Morton and Jordan Crighton from the Blacktown Spartans to name a few. Wolves coach Jacob Timpano is hoping the prized signing of Patrick Antelmi from Blacktown City will help spark the South Coast based club’s chances of making the finals series for 2017.

Finally, the last match to conclude Round 1 will be a blockbuster clash as 2016 Premiers and NPL Champions Sydney United 58 take on APIA Leichhardt Tigers at the Sydney United Sports Centre. It will be the first match without coach Mark Rudan as the club’s Under 20 coach and former Croatian star Davor Bajsic takes over as the top man at the Reds. The club may have lost Peter Triantis and Theo Kofinas to name a few but have managed to recruit one of the form players of the league in Nick Olsen from the APIA Leichhardt Tigers as well as the return of Ante Tomic, Petar Markovic and Anthony Tomelic. As for the Tigers, Danial Cummins will once again assume the position as the head coach of the club and will have the services of Fijian international Alvin Singh at his disposal as well as former Parramatta FC skipper Josh Symons (who joins brother Sean) and keeper Luke Turnbull and Mounties Wanderers’ Matthew West.

Heritage Round will feature again in 2017, celebrating the rich history of the competition, and will take place across Round 12.

The Finals Series for 2017 will commence on the 20th of August while the Grand Final has been scheduled for Sunday 10th of September.

With a number of quality players currently plying their trade in the PS4 National Premier Leagues NSW Men's competition with a sprinkling of fresh young talent coming through the system combined with the release of the Westfield FFA Cup for 2017, the new year promises to be the most competitive yet.

Along with the players, referees developing towards the top stage will also be on show in the PS4 NPL NSW Men's competition with the likes of leading Hyundai A-League referees Kris Griffiths-Jones, Kurt Ams and Stephen Lucas as well as Westfield W-League’s Kelly Jones and Katie-Louise Patterson leading the charge while the continual improvement of coaches will again be on the radar as the likes of Paul Reid, Robbie Stanton, Jacob Timpano, Paul Dee, Mark Crittenden and co continue their climb to coaching in the top tier competition of Australian football.

Opens external link in new windowVIEW THE 2017 PS4 NPL NSW MENS DRAW

*All other competition draws from other state league competitions will be out early next year.